&Now 2015: Blast Radius has ended
Back To Schedule
Saturday, March 28 • 2:30pm - 3:45pm
Nontraditional Collectivity: A Critical Reflection and Reading by FC2

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule, view media, leave feedback and see who's attending!

This year marks the 40th anniversary of Fiction Collection 2, an author-run publisher of non-traditional fiction. This panel will begin with a reflection on literary non-traditionalism.  How do “non-traditional” writers work with and against and slantwise to tradition? How can a collective publishing model encourage irreconcilable aesthetics, communal singularities, multi-directional lineages (vertical, horizontal), innovation, and affinity?  Panelists will present a collective response (speculative, critical, creative, necessarily non-exhaustive) to questions concerning the future of fiction. The panel will conclude with a reading celebrating FC2’s 40 years of multifarious fiction experiments.  


Joanna Ruocco

Joanna Ruocco holds an MFA from Brown and a PhD from the University of Denver. She is the author of The Mothering Coven (Ellipses Press, 2009), Man's Companions (Tarpaulin Sky Press, 2010), A Compendium of Domestic Incidents, Another Governess / The Least Blacksmith: A Diptych... Read More →


Luke Goebel

Writer of FOURTEEN STORIES| None of Them are Yours, forthcoming from FC2 in 2014, winner of the 2013 Ronald Sukenick Prize for Innovative Fiction. Assistant Professor of English at the University of Texas at Tyler. Worked as an editor and publisher at The New York Tyrant.
avatar for Amelia Gray

Amelia Gray

AMELIA GRAY is the author of four books: AM/PM, Museum of the Weird, THREATS, and Gutshot. Her work has appeared in Tin House, VICE, Flaunt, Guernica, BOMB, and Lucky Peach, among others. She lives in Los Angeles.
avatar for Gregory Howard

Gregory Howard

Professor, University of Maine
Gregory Howard’s fiction and essays have appeared in WebConjunctions, The Collagist, Harp & Altar, and Tarpaulin Sky, among other places. He teaches Fiction Writing and Contemporary Literature at University of Maine. His novel Hospice will be released by FC2 in March 2015.

Matt Kirkpatrick

Assistant Professor, Eastern Michigan University
Matthew Kirkpatrick is the author of Light without Heat (FC2) and The Exiles (Ricochet Editions). He is an Assistant Professor of Creative Writing at Eastern Michigan University.

Patrick Lawler

PATRICK LAWLER’S novel Rescuers of Skydivers Search Among the Clouds was the winner of the Ronald Sukenick American Book Review Innovative Fiction Prize (2012) and the CNY Book Award for Fiction (2013). In 2014, Four Way Books published a collection of his short stories The Meaning... Read More →
avatar for Hilary Plum

Hilary Plum

Hilary Plum is the author of the novel "They Dragged Them Through the Streets" (FC2, 2013). She has worked for a number of years as an editor of international literature, including as co-director of Clockroot Books, and is an editor with the Kenyon Review. With Zach Savich she edits... Read More →

Jessica Richardson

JESSICA RICHARDSON performed Off-Broadway and elsewhere for years before earning her MFA in Fiction from the University of Alabama in 2013. Her short story collection, It Had Been Planned and There Were Guides, won the Ronald Sukenick Innovative Fiction Prize and is forthcoming from... Read More →

Saturday March 28, 2015 2:30pm - 3:45pm PDT

Attendees (0)